PROJECT FRIENDSHIP | The Little Sister

There are plenty of different types of relationship one can have with another person. One of them comes somewhat closer to having an actual blood bond with someone than the average friendship feeling – it’s almost like having a real sibling, or in my case a little sister.

Let me tell you about my little sister: C.

 

I should start by saying that it took me a while to even decide on what to call this kind of friendship that ties me with C. Some of my favourite options included:

  • The One I Cannot Get Rid Off At This Point
  • The Begrudging Protectiveness
  • The Exasperating One You Can’t Help But Love

Now all these titles sounded maybe a little too digressive, but I think they already give you a pretty good idea of how I feel towards C. I have know her for as long as I can remember and, even though she’s really only a handful of days younger than me, for some reason I have always considered her to be my little sister.

Not having any actual siblings, what do I even really know on the matter? It’s hard to say for me, but I imagine I would feel the same way for her if she was related to me by blood: sometimes I cannot stand her, in that childish sort of way of someone who annoys me by stealing all my toys. If I had to spend all my time with C, I know I would go nuts pretty quickly – yet at the same time I seek her out and think about her very often, needing to know what she’s up to.

She’s my little sister because I want to be there for her whenever she needs me. She’s my little sister because I am more than willing to throttle whoever is crazy enough to hurt her. She’s my little sister because I want to spoil her endlessly and be the one to teach her things. She’s my little sister because I always want her to know that I’ll always be there for her, the one firm point she will always be able to count on – no matter how far away from each other we might be.

“There might be millions of roses in the whole world, but you’re my only one, unique rose.” – The Petit Prince

She’s my little sister because it’s my duty to protect her – even when I don’t agree with her choices, even when I don’t even really understand her, even when I get pissed off with her.

When we were younger I thought we’d grow up to be just like one another, but now I can see we couldn’t be any more different. I realize it’s much better this way – our differences help us improve each other and balance us. We’re two kindred spirits with completely different world views – just like good sisters, we help each other grow up.

“If you ever find yourself stuck in the middle of the sea
I’ll sail the world to find you
If you ever find yourself lost in the dark and you can’t see
I’ll be the light to guide you

We find out what we’re made of
When we are called to help our friends in need

You can count on me like 1, 2, 3
I’ll be there
And I know when I need it
I can count on you like 4, 3, 2
And you’ll be there
‘Cause that’s what friends are supposed to do, oh yeah
Ooooooh, oooohhh yeah, yeah

If you’re tossin’ and you’re turnin’
And you just can’t fall asleep
I’ll sing a song beside you
And if you ever forget how much you really mean to me
Every day I will remind you

We find out what we’re made of
When we are called to help our friends in need

You can count on me like 1, 2, 3
I’ll be there
And I know when I need it
I can count on you like 4, 3, 2
And you’ll be there
‘Cause that’s what friends are supposed to do, oh yeah
Ooooooh, oooohhh yeah, yeah

You’ll always have my shoulder when you cry
I’ll never let go, never say goodbye
You know…

You can count on me like 1, 2, 3
I’ll be there
And I know when I need it
I can count on you like 4, 3, 2
And you’ll be there
‘Cause that’s what friends are supposed to do, oh yeah
Ooooooh, oooohhh

You can count on me ’cause I can count on you”

 – Bruno  Mars

 

Buddy

Leave a Reply

